Beyond Gobbledigook

Roy Lichtenstein. Interior with Mirrored Wall, 1991. Oil on canvas, 126 1/8 x 160 inches; Guggenheim Museum, New York.

Posted in Oil on canvas by Jessica on March 17, 2009

Roy Lichtenstein. Interior with Mirrored Wall, 1991. Oil on canvas, 126 1/8 x 160 inches; Guggenheim Museum, New York.

Roy Lichtenstein described pop art as not “American” painting, but “industrial” painting.

Towards the end of his life, he began to experiment with painting mirrors and Interior with Mirrored Wall is an example of just that. He was inspired by furniture advertisements he found in telephone books, and created a series of works portraying domestic environments. Lichtenstein also liked showing the “gleam” in objects, as seen by the mirror and the grand piano in this work.

This piece is just, simply put–charming. There is this “quaintness” in the extremely straight lines and the Benday dots and stripes on the ground that creates the illusion of a carpet. Also, there is a stark contrast between the couch–that is completely outlined, but white, with the exceptions of the off-white and red cushions–and the plants–that are not outlined, but are so richly green.

For some reason, the furniture in this piece reminds me of the furniture I had as a child for my dollhouse.

J

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. link said, on February 20, 2013 at 2:36 AM

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the problem is one thing that not enough persons are speaking intelligently about. I’m very pleased that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  2. pop art said, on March 28, 2014 at 7:57 AM

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and
    find nearly all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few
    of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web site!


Leave a Reply

